Brexit Information

Following the June 2016 UK referendum, the UK formally left the European Union (EU) on 31 January 2020 and then entered an Implementation Period.

During the Implementation Period, we used EU passporting rights* to carry out business in countries that are part of the European Single Market.

The passporting rights used by NatWest Markets Plc fell away when the Implementation Period ended on 31 December 2020. NatWest Markets Plc has continuing permissions to trade into the following countries: Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Norway, Portugal, and Sweden, but please note certain restrictions can apply.

NatWest Markets N.V. continues to use EU passporting rights.

Please contact the Brexit mailbox clientaccountmanagement@natwestmarkets.com for further information.

Our business in Europe

NatWest Markets N.V. based in Amsterdam is a fully licensed credit institution and has branches in Dublin, Frankfurt, London, Milan, Paris and Stockholm.

On 25 March 2019, we began serving some of our EEA customers from NatWest Markets N.V.. Depending on the outcome of the ongoing political negotiations, we may transfer further EEA customers to NatWest Markets N.V. in the future.

* EU passporting applies to countries across the EEA – which includes not just the EU, but also Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

Talk to us

In the meantime, if you need more information from us or you’d like to set up NatWest Markets N.V. as a new counterparty, please get in touch.

You can email us at clientaccountmanagement@natwestmarkets.com or speak to your usual contact at NatWest Markets.

Business Banking Transfer Scheme

We’re using our banking entity in the Netherlands, NatWest Markets N.V., to support certain European Economic Area (EEA) customers. See our dedicated page for more information.

More about the scheme