Royal Bank of Scotland's banknotes

The Royal Bank of Scotland, part of NatWest Group, first started issuing banknotes in 1727, and still does so today.

The Royal Bank of Scotland currently issues banknotes in £1, £5, £10, £20, £50 and £100 denominations.

Since 1992 the Royal Bank of Scotland has issued commemorative notes to mark important anniversaries and occasions. 

Over the centuries our banks have issued many different designs. Discover some of the most interesting and influential. 

Thanks to their attractive designs and extraordinary history, there is often demand to reproduce images of our banknotes.